Review: Alive by Scott Sigler

23278532Alive by Scott Sigler

Published July 14th 2015

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.

I had seen quite a bit of this book on YouTube and the synopsis sounded really interesting so I knew I wanted to read this book. I seen Alive about a week or two ago at Barnes & Noble so I bought and I thought I would get around to it in a couple months or so. I ended up reading the first couple of pages and loved it so I started right away. And I’m so glad that I did.

Alive starts out so exciting and so fast paced. I couldn’t put this book down and I was so engrossed in every page. Every detail of this book seemed so well thought and put together carefully. The less you know going into Alive, the better because this whole book is just on big “What is going on?!” in the best way. The characters are confused and don’t know what’s going on and so is the reader. I couldn’t predicate anything so I went on this crazy journey with the main character and I felt like I could easily place myself in this story. I rarely read a book that I’m completely invested in but Alive is one of them.

Alive is so well written. I’ve never read a Scott Sigler book before so I didn’t know what to expect but his writing blew me away. It’s not over the top with metaphors but the ones that are used are so great and add so much to the book.

I loved the main character. She was so well written and beautifully flawed in such a realistic way. I was really surprised by her.

Overall, I loved Alive. It’s so exciting and interesting and original. I’ve never read anything like it before. The synopsis says “a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner” but that’s really stupid to me because is nothing like those books. It’s very original and different. I can definitely see this trilogy becoming the next big thing.

star-e1424615985435star-e1424615985435star-e1424615985435star-e1424615985435star-e1424615985435

4 thoughts on “Review: Alive by Scott Sigler

  1. Ana says:

    This is one of those books I really want to get because I read Infected by the same author and really enjoyed it, but at the same time I want to wait till the whole trilogy is complete.

    How does it end? Major cliffhanger?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s